Start Your State Course:
Recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard, approved by NASBLA and your state boating license agency.
Here's how to get started or return to your course:
We launched a completely new platform for our free online course on 11/18/2020!
Our old course system is officially retired but if you need to access your certificate of completion, you can request a copy through this form
For a brief tutorial on getting started in the new system or to contact us, click here.
Returning User? (new system)
Please log in above.
Complete the Course in Three Easy Steps:
Enroll yourself in a Boating Safety Course from the Course Catalog
Study and pass the FREE Boating Safety Course.
Print out your certificate of completion yourself for free
Get Started Today! Start Now →
Print out your temporary certificate yourself for free and mail a copy to the Oregon State Marine Board to get your permanent Boater Education Card.
Oregon has a mandatory education law for all individuals wishing to operate powerboats greater than 10 horsepower (hp). Boaters are required to carry their boating education card with them while operating.
The Oregon State Marine Board approves many classroom and internet courses. The BoatUS Online Safety Course is an approved course. After completing an approved boating safety course you must then apply for a life-time card (no renewal necessary) issued by the Oregon State Marine Board (see above).
ALL powerboat operators are required to take an approved boating safety course and carry their boater education card when operating a powerboat greater than 10 hp. You must be at least 12 years old to operate a powerboat in Oregon.
Youth 12-15 need a boater education card to operate powerboats 1-10hp alone. When operating boats greater than 10 hp, youth must be supervised by a card-holding adult age 16 or older. When operating a PWC, the supervisor must be 18 or older.
In all cases where an adult is supervising a youth, that adult must possess a boater education card as well.
Oregon prohibits the operation of personal watercraft by persons under the age of 16 unless accompanied by a boater education card-holding person 18 or older.
Persons 16 and older may operate a PWC unaccompanied, provided they possess a boating education card. Oregon prohibits the rental of a PWC to persons under 18.
How Do I Get My Oregon Certificate?
1. After you complete the course you will be issued a printable copy of your certificate that you can print yourself and use immediately for the next 30 days.
2. The Oregon State Marine Board requires that you purchase a safe boating card for $20.00. The card can be purchased two ways, through the Oregon State Marine Board website or through your account on the BoatUS Foundation e-learning site for $21.00.
View instructions for using the system here and access the Boat Oregon website at www.BoatOregon.com. The Oregon State Marine Board WILL accept a photo or scanned copy of your printed temporary certificate as proof of course completion.
Complete the Course at Your Own Pace
Choose when and where to take your course.
In our new online learning system, take it on any device with an internet connection and automatically have your progress saved when the window is closed.*
Get Started Now →
Online Course Video:
Great course, and so much more convenient than going at night for several nights... Keep up the great work, and see you on the water.Gene
Thank you so much! This was a great course and I learned so much. Hope you have a great weekend!Lindsay
Thank you. The information that you gave me allowed me to complete the course. Your assistance was very much appreciated.D. White
Thank you so much! You folks are so kind. Good luck with the updates and have safe boating fun this summer!Brennan
How to Use GPS
Are you new to electronics on your boat or uncomfortable with the operation of the electronics that you have? We can help!
Get Started Now!
Modern Marine Navigation
Learn the basics of plotting, reading charts, identifying ATONs and using them to find your way on the water.
Get Started Now!