Start Your State Course:
The BoatUS Foundation's Online Course is the only FREE Online Boating Safety Course approved by the state of New York to meet mandatory education requirement for boaters who are required to complete a NASBLA approved boating safety course.Register Today
Recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard, approved by NASBLA and your state boating license agency.
Here's how to get started or return to your course:
We launched a completely new platform for our free online course on 11/18/2020!
Our old course system is officially retired but if you need to access your certificate of completion, you can request a copy through this form
For a brief tutorial on getting started in the new system or to contact us, click here.
Returning User? (new system)
Please log in above.
Complete the Course in Three Easy Steps:
Enroll yourself in a Boating Safety Course from the Course Catalog
Study and pass the FREE Boating Safety Course.
Print out your certificate of completion yourself for free
Get Started Today! Start Now →
Print your free temporary card to get out on the water right away and order your permanent card for $13 or apply for your Adventure License!
New York has a mandatory education law for all boaters born on or after 5/1/1996 and all PWC operators of any age.
Under a new law known as Brianna's Law, all motor boat operators born on or after Jan. 1, 1993 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2020.
Those born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2022.
Those born on or after Jan. 1, 1983 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2023.
Those born on or after Jan. 1, 1978 will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2024.
All motor boat operators regardless of age will need a boating safety certificate beginning in 2025.
Boat Operation (excluding PWCs):
- Children under 10 may not operate.
- Boaters born on or after 5/1/1996 may only operate if they have successfully completed an approved boating safety course such as the BoatUS Foundation’s Free Online Boating Safety Course.
Education is Mandatory for All PWC Operators.
- All personal watercraft operators must successfully complete an approved boating safety course before they can operate a PWC on any waters of New York.
- All PWC operators must be a minimum of 14 years old - no one under the age of 14 may operate a PWC.
- No one under the age of 16 may rent a personal watercraft. Those under 18 years of age wishing to rent a personal watercraft must possess a boating safety education certificate.
For more information on educational requirements, contact New York State Office of Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation Bureau of Marine, Recreational Vehicles at (518) 474-0445. Or, visit boatus.com/courseline/ to find a boating safety class near you.
Suffolk County Boaters:
New York's Boater Education Law, signed by the governor in 2013, will supersede Suffolk County's previously enacted boater education requirement as of May 1, 2014.
How Do I Get My New York Certificate?
After completing the course you will be awarded a temporary certificate (90 days) that you can print free of charge but you will also need to purchase a permanent boating education card for $13 or apply for the the New York Adventure License as described below.
Purchasing a permanent boating education card from the BoatUS Foundation:
For $13.00 you may purchase a permanent plastic boating education card from the BoatUS Foundation (or read below for information about the New York Adventure License Program). To order your card, log in at elearning.boatus.org and click on "My Account" on the top menu bar. Under the calendar on the left side of the My Account screen click the print link next to your New York certificate to open the certificate options window. Click "Mail Card/Certificate to Me" and fill in the requested payment information to place your order. Please allow 2-3 weeks from date of purchase to receive your permanent boating education card.
New York Adventure License Program:
After successful completion of this course, you can choose to have your certification noted, as an anchor icon, on your NY Driver’s License or other identification document issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The advantage is that you no will longer need to carry your boating safety certificate with you when boating, provided you have your driver’s license with you. The New York State Adventure License costs $13.50
For more information click on the link below to be taken to New York’s Adventure license page:Get Your Adventure License
Complete the Course at Your Own Pace
Choose when and where to take your course.
In our new online learning system, take it on any device with an internet connection and automatically have your progress saved when the window is closed.*
Get Started Now →
Online Course Video:
Great course, and so much more convenient than going at night for several nights... Keep up the great work, and see you on the water.Gene
Thank you so much! This was a great course and I learned so much. Hope you have a great weekend!Lindsay
Thank you. The information that you gave me allowed me to complete the course. Your assistance was very much appreciated.D. White
Thank you so much! You folks are so kind. Good luck with the updates and have safe boating fun this summer!Brennan
How to Use GPS
Are you new to electronics on your boat or uncomfortable with the operation of the electronics that you have? We can help!
Get Started Now!
Modern Marine Navigation
Learn the basics of plotting, reading charts, identifying ATONs and using them to find your way on the water.
Get Started Now!