Start or Return to Your State Course:

Program

Alabama

Register Today

Returning User? Sign in here.

not approved boating safety course

The BoatUS Foundation's Online Course is NOT Approved by the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources to satisfy the mandatory education requirements for boaters and PWC operators.


The courses below can be used as a refresher or study guide for an in person class or proctored exam. They can also qualify you for a premium discount on your BoatUS insurance policy.


Here's how to get started:


watch a video icon

Click below to view a short video on using our online course
View Video

add an account icon

Create an account and enroll yourself in a Boating Safety Course from the Course Catalog

passed chalkboard icon

Study and pass the FREE Boating Safety Course.

printer icon

Print out your certificate of completion yourself for free


Get Started Today! Start Now →


Education Requirements:


boating safety course age requirements graphic

Age Requirements:

Boaters under the age of 12 as of January 1, 2002 are eligible for certification when they reach the age of 12. Provided certification requirements are met, these individuals may only operate a vessel when accompanied by a person 21 years of age or older that is certified in the state of Alabama and can take immediate control of the vessel.

Once the boater has reached the age of 14, they may legally operate a vessel without supervision.

Boaters who received certification by January 1, 2002 may legally operate a vessel without supervision regardless of age.


Course Information:

Online boating safety courses and certificates obtained from online courses, such as the one offered by the BoatU.S. Foundation, are NOT recognized by the Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources and on-water enforcement officers.

Boaters must appear at a Department of Public Safety Driver’s Examining Office and take a boater’s safety exam which includes questions on rules of the road, safety equipment, waterways marking system and other applicable boating laws.

Boaters may also receive a certification of examination exemption by presenting a course completion certificate from an approved course such as those given by the U.S. Power Squadrons, the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, or the Alabama Marine Police Division.

In addition, boaters that have a valid U.S. Coast Guard Motorboat Operator’s License or boaters that were 40 years of age or older as of April 28, 1994 may also apply for a certification of examination exemption.

All applications for certification of examination or certification of examination exemption must be presented to the Department of Public Safety Driver’s License Examining Office in your county of residence. Your driver’s license will then be updated with a "V" endorsement, indicating that you have earned your Alabama Boater Safety Certification. The certificate will be renewed at no charge every four years when your driver’s license is renewed. If you do no have an automobile driver’s license, you will be issued a “Vessel Only” license.

Not all courses (including the BoatU.S. Foundation for Boating Safety Course) are accepted for certification.


Other Information:

This certificate of completion is not NASBLA nor state approved and will not entitle boaters and PWC operators to operate on the waters of Alabama.

Out-of-state visiting from another state should check with Alabama law to determine requirements for operator age, supervision and the maximum allowable length of visit.

For more information from the state on boating laws, visit: www.outdooralabama.com


How Do I Get My Florida Card?


florida plastic card

After you complete the course you will be issued a paper copy of your Certificate of Completion. This certificate can be used immediatly after you complete the course.


But What About the Card?

Your permanent Boater Education ID Card will be mailed to you by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission within 3-4 weeks.

Records are sent to the state automatically every day. Make sure that you type your name as you want it to show on your certificate along with a correct mailing address so you will receive your card in a timely fashion.

If you do not receive your card after 4 weeks, contact the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission at 850-488-5600.


Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission

620 S. Meridian Street
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1600

Learn More at Ask FWC →


If Your Card Has Been Lost or Damaged:


If you need to order a replacement card, contact the Florida Fish & Wildlife Conservation Commission at 850-488-5600.

Or visit their website at myfwc.com →

If you need another copy of your paper certificate, just login to your account and reprint your certificate from the link under the calendar on the My Account screen

Return to Your Account →

If you took the course before August 1, 2010, to re-print your certificate at any time, follow these steps:

  1. Click on the course you originally took below. (If you cannot remember which course you took please call us at 800-245-2628)
  2. Enter you email address and first name (make sure you enter the email you used when you registered with the course originally).
  3. Click Get Previous Certificate and follow the prompts

General Boating Safety Course | PWC Safety Course


Frequently Asked Questions:

Below are some common questions asked about our FREE boating safety course.


  • How much does the course cost?

    The BoatU.S. Foundation is a free NASBLA approved course. When you finish, you can print your certificate on your own printer or order a printed paper certificate($5) or plastic card($10) for a fee. Some states will charge additional fees to issue you a permanent state ID verifying completion of a boating safety course. Be sure to read your state's Mandatory Eduation Requirements for more information.

  • How do I print my certificate?
    Print your certificate of completion from your My Account screen.

    Figure A.

    Print your certificate of completion from your My Account screen.

    Figure B.

    Instructions for Users With a Printer:

    1. Once you have completed all included lessons for a course you will be awarded a certificate of completion (if applicable) which you can print yourself from your My Account screen. It will appear on the left under the calendar as shown in the image (Figure A) above.
    2. Click on your state name to bring up your printing options (Figure B). To print a paper copy of your certificate click "Print Certificate".
    3. After you choose "Print Certificate", a separate window will pop-up and you may briefly see the certificate before it moves off screen and your print dialog appears. Then select your printer from the list and click OK. Do not assume that your certificate won't print just because you can't see it.
  • How long is my certificate valid?

    Your boating safety certificate will never expire. It is valid for life.

  • I took the course a while ago, how do I re-print my certificate?

    If you took the course prior to August 1, 2010, to re-print your certificate at any time, follow these steps:

    1. Click on the course you originally took below. (If you cannot remember which course you took please call us at 800-245-2628)
    2. Enter you email address and first name (make sure you enter the email you used when you registered with the course originally).
    3. Click Get Previous Certificate and follow the prompts

    General Boating Safety Course | PWC Safety Course | Oregon Boating Safety Course


    If you took the course after August 1, 2010, to re-print your certificate at any time, follow these steps:

    1. Return to the BoatUS Foundation ELearning Center at https://elearning.boatus.org/.
    2. Enter you username and password. Once you have logged in your certificate will be located in your My Account on the left side underneath the calendar.
    3. Click on your states name and select a print option.

To view the complete list of questions visit:
www.boatus.org/courses/faq/

boating safety course frequently asked questions graphic

Need Help? Contact us!


Most Questions Can Be Answered Through Our FAQs Page.


Call or Email the BoatUS Foundation about our boating safety course or about course questions.

Feel free to call or email if you ever need help while you are taking the course.


Send an email to SmartBoating@BoatUS.com
Or call us Toll Free at 1-800-245-2628
Mon - Fri: 9AM - 5PM Eastern Time

contact us boating safety graphic

Course Information:


4 - 8 Hours

Estimated Course Time

6 Lessons

Each Contains a 10 Question Quiz

Final Exam

75 Questions Pulled Randomly

phone and tablet icons

Complete the Course at Your Own Pace

Choose when and where to take your course. Take it on a desktop, laptop, tablet, or mobile phone.


Special Information for Phones, iPads and Other Tablet Users: You must turn off your pop-up blocker in your settings menu in order to view any of the courses.

Get Started Now →

Online Course Video:



Testimonials


  • Great course, and so much more convenient than going at night for several nights... Keep up the great work, and see you on the water.

    Gene
  • Thank you so much! This was a great course and I learned so much. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Lindsay
  • Thank you. The information that you gave me allowed me to complete the course. Your assistance was very much appreciated.

    D. White
  • Thank you so much! You folks are so kind. Good luck with the updates and have safe boating fun this summer!

    Brennan
New Specialized Courses
Full Course List →