Start Your State Course:

Program

Tennessee

The BoatUS Foundation's Online Course is the only FREE Online Boating Safety Course approved by the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency for boaters born before 1/1/1989.

Register Today
approved boating safety course

Recognized by the U.S. Coast Guard, approved by NASBLA and your state boating license agency for boaters born before 1/1/1989.

not approved boating safety course

The BoatUS Foundation's Online Course is NOT Approved to meet the mandatory education requirements for Tennessee boaters born after 1/1/1989.


However, the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency recommends taking this course in order to prepare for obtaining the official TWRA Boating Safety Education Certificate. Please use this as a study guide to prepare for your proctored exam.


Here's how to get started or return to your course:

We launched a completely new platform for our free online course on 11/18/2020!

Our old course system Is officially retired but if you need to access your certificate of completion, you can request a copy through this form

For a brief tutorial on getting started in the new system or to contact us, click here.


Login

Returning User? (new system)
Please log in above.


Complete the Course in Three Easy Steps:

add an account icon

Enroll yourself in a Boating Safety Course from the Course Catalog

passed chalkboard icon

Study and pass the FREE Boating Safety Course.

printer icon

Print out your certificate of completion yourself for free


Get Started Today! Start Now →


Education Requirements:


boating safety course age requirements graphic

Age Requirements:

Boat operators born after January 1, 1989 must successfully complete a boater education course approved by the TWRA. After completion of an approved course and passing the final exam in a proctored testing center, a card will be issued as proof of completion. The boating safety education certificate issued by the TWRA is the ONLY card recognized and accepted as meeting the requirements of the law for Tennessee residents. This card must be in the possession of operators born after January 1, 1989 and available to show law enforcement personnel.

Any non-resident boater operating a boat in Tennessee who falls within this age requirement must show proof of successful passage of a National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) approved boater education course.

The BoatU.S. Online Boating Safety Course does NOT meet the education requirements for Tennessee. For an approved course, visit www.tn.gov/twra/.

Persons under 12 years of age may not operate a powered vessel or PWC unless an adult is on board that can take immediate control.

An exception is made if the boat is powered by an outboard motor of 8.5 horsepower (hp) or less.

A further exception is made for unaccompanied operators between the ages of 10 and 12 if the boat is over 14 feet long, powered by an outboard motor of less than 15 hp and the person has successfully completed boating education course approved by the TWRA.

When loaning your motorboat or PWC, be certain that they have met the minimum age and education requirements and understand all applicable Tennessee laws.

Under no circumstances can PWCs be rented to anyone younger than 16 years of age.


Other Information:

To get your official TWRA Boating Safety Education Certificate, follow these simple steps:

  1. Take the course and pass the Final Exam - it's absolutely free to take the course and exam
  2. Purchase a Type 600 Boat Safety Exam Permit for $13 from any business that sells hunting and fishing licenses and hold on to your receipt which is your 'ticket' to take the exam at an official proctored exam location
  3. Visit www.tn.gov/twra/ to find a location near you and get more information on signing up for the exam
  4. Take and pass the exam at the testing location nearest you and your official, wallet-sized card will be mailed to you

How Do I Get My Tennessee Certificate?


a card

To get the official, wallet-sized TWRA Boating Safety Eduation Certificate you must take a proctored exam at any official exam location. For information on enrollment visit www.tn.gov/twra/.

To get your official TWRA Boating Safety Education Certificate, follow these simple steps:

  1. Take the course and pass the Final Exam - it's absolutely free to take the course and exam
  2. Purchase a Type 600 Boat Safety Exam Permit for $10 from any business that sells hunting and fishing licenses and hold on to your receipt which is your 'ticket' to take the exam at an official proctored exam location
  3. Visit www.tn.gov/twra/ to find a location near you and get more information on signing up for the exam
  4. Take and pass the exam at the testing location nearest you and your official, wallet-sized card will be mailed to you

Course Information:


4 - 8 Hours

Estimated Course Time

6 Lessons

Each Contains a 10 Question Quiz

Final Exam

60 Questions Pulled Randomly

phone and tablet icons

Complete the Course at Your Own Pace

Choose when and where to take your course.
In our new online learning system, take it on any device with an internet connection and automatically have your progress saved when the window is closed.*

*You must be registed in our new system at courses.boatus.org and not have previously registered or started at elearning.boatus.org.


Get Started Now →

Online Course Video:



Testimonials


  • Great course, and so much more convenient than going at night for several nights... Keep up the great work, and see you on the water.

    Gene
  • Thank you so much! This was a great course and I learned so much. Hope you have a great weekend!

    Lindsay
  • Thank you. The information that you gave me allowed me to complete the course. Your assistance was very much appreciated.

    D. White
  • Thank you so much! You folks are so kind. Good luck with the updates and have safe boating fun this summer!

    Brennan